Connect with Us:  

Korotyshkin Takes 'Fly Crown By 0.01sec

Dec 16, 2010  - Craig Lord

Dubai, world s/c championships, day 2 finals:

Men's 100m Butterfly

In 50.23sec, world record holder Evgeny Korotyshkin (RUS) confirmed himself the world No1 by 0.01sec over Albert Subirats (VEN), the bronze going to Kaio Almeida (BRA) in 50.33. The champion is coached by Andrea di Nino, who also had two others in the final who have been or are guided by him: the last two home, Jason Dunford (KEN) and Peter Mankoc (SLO).

Not to take anything away from any in the race - but how good does that 49.07 best-ever textile time set by Ian Crocker (USA) look...

The result:

  • Korotyshkin 50.23
  • Subirats 50.24 
  • Almeida 50.33
  • Masayuki Kishida (JPN) 50.64
  • Konrad Czerniak (POL) 50.75
  • Joeri Verlinden (NED) 50.78
  • Jason Dunford (KEN) 50.79
  • Peter Mankoc (SLO) 50.85

More later.

History in the making:

World s/c Podiums

  • 2010: 50.23; 50.24; 50.33
  • 2008: 50.04; 50.54; 50.78
  • 2006: 51.07; 51.23; 51.53

Most world titles in this event: 3

  • Lars Frolander (SWE) 1997, 99, 2000

Records (TB = best ever in a textile suit)

  • WR: 48.48 Evgeny Korotyshkin (RUS) 15.11.09
  • TB: 49.07 Ian Crocker (USA) 26.03.04

Most world records in this event (since specific 25m records began in 1991): 3

  • Michael Klim (AUS) 1998-2000

All-time textile rankings top 5:

  • 49.07 Crocker 2004
  • 49.95 S Deibler 2010
  • 50.02 Cavic 2003
  • 50.10 Rupprath 2002
  • 50.38 Dunford (KEN) Dubai 2010

From the archive:

Butterfly had barely been born when FINA decided to draw a line in the world-record books in 1957 and start afresh, having decided that world standards could only be set in pools 50m long. The first five world marks on 100m 'fly were held by Gyorgy Tumpek (HUN) but the last before the rule change was a 1:01.5 by Albert Wiggins (USA) in New Haven on April 2, 1955. Tumpek struck back on May 26, 1957, his 1:03.4 much slower but the first to match or better the FINA standard time. His mark did not last long: on June 16, 1967 in Kurume, Takashi Ishimoto (JPN) clocked the first of his five world records, matching Wiggin's short-course 1:01.5. He would take the standard down to the cusp of a breakthrough, on 1:00.1 in Losn Angeles on June 29, 1958 ...  but it was Lance Larson (USA) who cracked the magic minute. And how: racing on June 26 1960 in the same LA pool in which Ishimoto left his mark, Larson drove speed down to 59 flat.