Connect with Us:  

Hoogie Heads Fame Class Of 2013

Aug 23, 2012

Olympic champions Pieter Van Den Hoogenband (NED), Gary Hall Jr (USA), Yana Klochkova (UKR), Dagmar Hase (GER) and the late Italian head coach Alberto Castagnetti are among the Class of 2013 who will be inducted at the International Swimming Hall of Fame's 49th Annual Ceremony on May 11 next year in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Den Hoogenband, 100m and 200m freestyle champion at Sydney 2000, retained the 100m crown in 2004; Klochkova is the most successful medley swimmer in history, with the 200m and 400m titles won in 2000 and 2004; Hall Jr made history in 2000 when he shared the 50m freestyle crown with teammate Anthony Ervin and then added to his treasury with victory along in 2004; and Hase attracted controversy when she beat Janet Evans (USA) for the 400m freestyle crown in 1992 but then dedicated her medal to former GDR teammate Astrid Strauss, who fell foul of doping regulations and was barred from competing at the Games in 1992.

Castagnetti, coach to generations of top Italian swimmers, died after heart surgery in late 2009 inn the wake of seeing his most successful pupil ever win the 200m and 400m freestyle global titles at a home world championships in Rome.