Connect with Us:  

Cielo Storms To 21.32 Win In 50 Free

Oct 12, 2008  - Craig Lord


Olympic champion César Cielo (BRA) stormed to a 21.32 victory over Stefan Nystrand (SWE), on 21.50, on day two of the first round of the FINA World Cup series in Belo Horizonte, Brazil. Third place went to Nicholas Santos (Brasil) on 21.53.

Olympic 1,500m champion Oussama Mellouli (TUN) scraped home in 15:16.43 ahead of Luiz Arapiraca (BRA), on 15:16.91 and then added the 200m free to his score of wins, a 1:44.58 effort keeping him well ahead of a pack led by Rodrigo Castro (BRA), on 1:46.32 and Kyle Richardson (AUS), on 1:46.68.

 Mellouli also raced the 200m medley, his 2:01.59 leaving him third in a race won by Thiago Pereira (BRA) in 1:56.33 ahead of 1:58.70 for Henrique Rodrigues (BRA).

Pererira had earlier finished second in the 100m butterfly, the winner Evgeny Korotyshkin (RUS), on 50.86, ahead of the Brazilian, on 52.05.

Christian Sprenger (AUS) claimed a third breaststroke win, in 58.19 in the 100m head of Felipe Lima (BRA), on 59.80.

Randall Bal (USA) got the edge in the 50m backstroke, in 23.87, to 24.21 for Stanilsav Donets (RUS). Bal later added the 200m in 1:54.11, 0.51sec up on Donets.

 Among women, Australian Marieke Guehrer continued to prosper, taking the 100m free in 53.27 ahead of 53.49 for Josefin Lillhage (SWE), and there was a third win for South African Katheryn Meaklim, who clocked 4:38.11 in the 400m medley. Later in the session, Meaklim took the 400m free in 4:14.95, after having finished second to teammate Mandy Loots in the 200m butterfly, 2:09.78 to 2:10.92, third going to Aussie newcomer Jackie Staples, on 2:10.99

Fabiola Molina (BRA) inflicted a second defeat on Sophie Edington (AUS), taking the 100m backstroke in 59.07, to 59:31, third going to Colombian Carolina Henao in 59.46. Molina was back later to win the 100m medley in 1:01.52, over Lillhage's 1:01.93 and a 1:02.35 for Loots.

 The session ended with a second win on the day for Guehrer (AUS) with a 25.63 effort in the 50m butterfly ahead of world long-course champion Therese Alshammar (SWE), on 26.09.