Connect with Us:  

Yard Yardsticks For Grevers & Cordes

Nov 30, 2012  - Craig Lord

News Round-Up: 

USA: Olympic 100m back champion Matt Grevers  and Kevin Cordes (Naperville, Ill.) set American records in the 100y back and 100y breaststroke respectively and Missy Franklin took a brace of victories on the second night of finals at the AT&T Winter National Championships at the Lee & Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center in Austin.

Grevers’ swim was the last of the evening: 44.55, roaring away from Eugene Godsoe after the half-way mark with a 23.12 homecoming split to finish ahead of the Russian Gator Arkady Vyactchanin, on 45.92. The US standard had stood to another Gator, world 200m champion Ryan Lochte, at 44.60, since March 2006.

Lochte raced the 200y free and led at half-way before Ricky Berens, trailing the world champion 45.15 to 45.25 at the half-way turn, piled on the pressure on his way to a meet-mark victory in 1:31.96. Lochte's 1:33.26 finish was good enough for third, Joao De Lucca second in 1:32.57.

Cordes clocked 51.10 to get inside the 51.32 record he set in March this year and fend off Mike Alexandrov, 51.62, and Clark Burckle, 51.99. Missy Franklin claimed the 200 free crown in 1:42.42 and later added the 100y back title in 51.87.

 In other action: Stina Gardell took the 400y medley in 4:03.79; Chase Kalisz the 400 free in 3:43.06; Christine Magnuson the 100 'fly in 51.86; Tom Shields (the 100 'fly in a meet mark of 44.88; and Laura Sogar claimed her first national title with a 58.32 in the 100y breaststroke.

Denmark: At short-course nationals in Copenhagen, Mie Nielsen, 16, continued to show fine form with a 4:05.61 victory in the 400m free, Chris Christensen took a brace of wins, on 1:56.40 in the 200m medley and 59.75 in the 100m breaststroke, and Faroes visitor Pal Joensen clocked 7:45.62 to win the 800m free. There were also three junior champs marks for 17-year-old Morten Hansen: he clocked 25.21 in the 50m backstroke, improved on that with a 24.87 lead-off split in the 4x50m medley relay and then shared a new record with teammates Lasse Pittioni, Tobias Gjerløff and Sebastian Merrildgaard as the quartet registered a 1:41.83 standard-setter. Other winners: Katrine Holm Sorensen, 2:12.22, 200m medley; Magnus Jackupsson, 24.25, 50 butterfly; Jeanette Ottesen, 25.62, 50 butterfly; Josephina Bartela, 1:08.10, 100 breast; Andreas Schiellerup, 24.60, 50 back; Sarah Bro, 2:11.85, 200 back.