Connect with Us:  

SNC Executive Committee

Oct 21, 1999

Edmonton's Bill McFarlane, who continues as Swimming Canada president, chief executive officer Harold Cliff (Ottawa), athlete representative Lisa Flood (Burlington, Ont.) and coaching representative John Vadeika (Edmonton) with Rob Colburn, who lives in Etobicoke, Ont. and serves as Swim Ontario's president, will now begin his second consecutive term as executive vice-president after being elected for the first time two years ago.

Joining Colburn on the committee as vice-presidents will be Mount Pearl, Nfld.'s Ed Evelly, Marco Veilleux of Montreal and Jan Harvey, who hails from Lethbridge, Alta.

Evelly, last year's chair of Swimming Canada's Leadership/Community Services Committee, also begins his second term on the committee, while Veilleux and Harvey are new to the executive.

Veilleux, a breaststroker at the 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles, currently serves on various other committees and is president of the Federation de natation du Quebec.

Harvey brings strong managerial experience to the executive, having spent time as a team manager with this summer's Canadian squad at the Pan Pacific Swimming Championships in Sydney, Australia.


Guiseppe Lorenzo Filippelli, more affectionately known as "Flip", was named an honourary member of Swimming Canada, becoming only the second person to receive such elite status.

Filippelli is Canada's top-ranked swimming official, serving as a volunteer since 1963, when he became president of the Lakeside Swimming Club in Montreal. Since 1970, he has been actively involved with Vancouver's Pacific Dolphins Swim Association.

A member of the FINA Technical Swimming Committee since 1988 the Vancouver resident has held a variety of positions within Swimming Canada, including serving as its president and chair of its rules and technical swimming committees. He has also officiated swimming events at all levels, including university, national and international competitions.

With the designation of Master Official to his credit, Filippelli has attended many world championships, Commonwealth and Pan American Games, as well as the past four Olympics. He holds the unique distinction of being the only Canadian to referee at the Olympics, doing so at the 1996 Atlanta Summer Games.

One of the most dedicated swimming officials in Canada, Filippelli joins E. Allan Harvey, who was named last year, as the only two honourary members of Swimming Canada.


Dorothy Liedtke is this year's recipient of the SNC Administrator of the Year award.

Liedtke, meet manager for the Victoria Amateur Swimming Club now Island Swimming since 1985, has been instrumental in managing swim meets of all sorts, including school, provincial, national and international competitions.

This year alone, Liedtke organized nine major swim meets, including the Maritime Life Spring Nationals and the national championships for youth and swimmers with a disability.


Chris Margetts, Elliott Lake, received the SNC Ken Filippelli Memorial Trophy for Officiating Excellence. Margetts became a Master Official in 1986, and a FINA swimming official in 1995.

Courtesy: Swimming/Natation Canada