Connect with Us:  

South African Swimmers Clean Up at SA Sports Awards

Nov 26, 2004

South African swimmers' efforts aren't going unrecognized as evidenced by the results of the inaugural SA Sports Awards last night in Johannesburg.

Swimmers nearly swept the proceedings as Roland Schoeman and Natalie du Toit were named Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year. The fearsome foursome of Schoeman, Ryk Neethling, Lyndon Ferns, and Darian Townsend were named Team of the Year for their recordbreaking performance at Athens in the men's 400m freestyle relay.

Disabled swimmer Craig Groenewald won the men's Disabled Sportsman of the Year, while Natalie du Toit walked away with Disabled Sportswoman of the year as well as Bonnita Sports Star of the Year.